2016 National Summit for Courageous Conversation

Reflections of our better selves

9.24 - 9.28 Austin, Texas


Each year, Pacific Educational Group recognizes educators, family, and community members who enthusiastically and unapologetically promote equity and racial justice in schools. Not only do these leaders engage, sustain, and deepen Courageous Conversation among a variety of constituencies, but they also inspire and mobilize others to create the climate and conditions for equitable schools that enable all children to achieve at their highest levels.

Asa G. Hilliard Award for Outstanding Achievement in Racial Equity

The Asa G. Hilliard award, the most prestigious Summit recognition, is presented to a leader whose racial equity achievements have had an immense impact on the cultural, social, and academic development of underserved student of color populations. Known for his cutting-edge work in culture-centered education for people of African ancestry, Dr. Hilliard’s relentless pursuit of truth, justice, and freedom was as pronounced as the depth of his spirituality, his love for his people, and his joy for his scholarship.

The Asa G. Hilliard Award recipient is distinguished in the following ways:

  • Passionate
  • Revolutionary
  • Understands Self
  • Nurtures Greatness in Others
  • Confronts and Challenges Racism

Summit Leadership Award

The Leadership Award is presented to an administrator who skillfully and courageously establishes an equity/anti-racist culture and climate in schools that enables all staff and students, especially those of color, to feel their power and achieve at higher levels.

The Leadership Award recipient is distinguished in the following ways:

  • Passionate about transformational leadership at the personal, professional, and organizational level
  • Practices are strategic, equity-focused, mission-driven, and results-oriented
  • Persistent in the pursuit of racial justice in schools.

Summit Leadership & Teaching Award

The Learning & Teaching Award is presented to a classroom teacher who demonstrates radically innovative, culturally relevant instruction that engages all students, and especially, promotes the highest achievement of underserved student of color populations.

Learning & Teaching Award recipients are distinguished in the following ways:

  • Practice radically innovative, culturally relevant instruction; models action research and on-going learning; and are able to indicate expertise and the humility to continue learning and growing
  • Passionate about engaging students in courageous conversations and courageous learning, and strive to be leaders for achieving racial equity in the classroom
  • Persistent in the relentless pursuit of the highest priority of transforming instruction so that it meets the needs of underserved student of color populations.

Summit Community Empowerment Award

The Community Empowerment Award is presented to a family member or local leader who effectively brokers collaboration — focused on racial equity — between and among community members and their schools.

The Community Empowerment Award recipient is distinguished in the following ways:

  • Passionate about the welfare of children
  • Achieves equity through broad-based community engagement and practices that promote partnerships and collaboration both within and across agencies
  • Persistent in the relentless pursuit of the highest priority goal of transforming the relationship between schools, families, and community organizations so that all children can excel academically, culturally, and socially, and feel nurtured and supported.

Charles L. Hopson Racial Equity Principal Leadership Award

Dr. Charles L. Hopson (1957-2012) was a most courageous and competent racial equity leader who served as Superintendent of Pulaski County Schools in Little Rock, Arkansas. His quiet and gentle determination and persistence was the way in which he moved his revolutionary equity theory into purposeful equity practice. While finding success in all arenas of leadership, Hopson most appreciated and celebrated his time as principal at Franklin High School in Portland, Oregon, where he effectively engaged teachers, students and parents in Courageous Conversation and courageous leadership. It is because of this innovative work that our leadership award is in his name.